Home arrow All arrow Baker, Antoinette
Baker, Antoinette Profile Page

Thesis 1

Thesis Title: The eleven choral preludes of Johannes Brahms: an analytical survey
Degree Type: MA
Degree Specialism: Performance
Thesis Status: Accepted
Date Submitted / Accepted: 1993
Institution Submitting / Submitted To: NUI, Maynooth
No. of Volumes (no. of pages): 1 (120pp.)
Thesis Location / Link: NUIM Library
Abstract: The Eleven Choral Preludes of Johannes Brahms were written in 1896 and represent the most significant contribution by any nineteenth-century composer to the choral prelude repertoire. Most of the pieces of this collection deal with the aspect of death. Ironically no.11 is based on the choral 'O Welt, ich muss dich lassen' (O World, I Now Must Leave Thee), as this is the last piece Brahms ever composed. He died the following year.

This thesis is divided into three chpaters. The first contains a brief biography of Brahms, a synopsis of his organ works, a short description of the organs to which he may have had access and a section on the various editions of op.122. Chapter two consists of an analysis of the individual pieces, which the third chapter constitutes a conclusion. Appendix A lists the specifications of the organs mentioned in chapter one, while a bibliography is contained in Appendix B.

Site by TF Design